top of page

Week 10 John PPJ

This week, I updated my prefab first-version model textures. The Seesaw now has a bump on the lines to help it stand out a bit. It doesn’t look as drawn on anymore. The Pottery_01 now has color on the designs that fit the look better. The torch was given a bump, and a cloth texture was created for the top of the torch. This week, the torch took up most of my time. I had to refresh my understanding of UVing, which took a bit of trial and error. As for the bump, It didn’t come out as well as it should have. I am still struggling with getting my bump details the way I want them. The cloth texture I made isn’t all that cloth-like, though it was hand painted in photoshop. I didn’t use Mudbox at all either, strictly photoshop.

This week I realized that I’ve never really understood how to do these things well. I took classes on this stuff my first or second term during my first year as a transfer student, so I haven’t really built a foundation. A lot of this is being learned now as I go along. So, I am making progress, even though it’s small. Unfortunately, I spend a lot of my time figuring out how to do it, rather than just doing it. So, things definitely take me way longer. However, I will just keep chugging along. Up next, I will learn how to make a realistic fire particle effect for the torch. I will also try my hand at any models that we need.


Featured Posts
bottom of page