top of page

Week 9 John PPJ

This week I spent more time messing with normal maps, trying to get the FBX exporter to work, and created first version prefabs for the torch, seesaw, and potter01. Again, I have been hitting walls with trying to get good looking normal maps from my Mudbox meshes. For some reason, I can’t extract that high level detail and have it look good. I was having issues with the bump mapping in Mudbox as well. For the normal maps I might have to create it through Maya. For bumps, I had some success with getting it to work in Maya, but it doesn’t work well in Unity. Figures. Eugene suggested changing the import settings a bit ago, so I’ll give that try. Generally though, I might just have to switch to Photoshop for texturing and painting until I figure out what the deal is. I also ate up a good chunk of time trying to get the FBX exporter to work, because it supposedly offers seamless prefab updating. However, you can only update from Maya to Unity. You can’t scale up in Unity and send it back. And that’s if you get it working correctly. I’m not sure what I was doing wrong. But anyway, back to the drawing board, to try and find ways to make my models look better.


Featured Posts
bottom of page